When a Ball Moves on the Green

Marking a ball on the green in order to clean it or protect it from another putt will no longer be a nerve-wracking experience!

Originally published 2016

http://www.golfchannel.com/news/golf-central-blog/usga-adds-local-rule-accidental-ball-movement

“When a player’s ball lies on the putting green, there is no penalty if the ball or ball-marker is accidentally moved by the player, his partner, his opponent, or any of their caddies or equipment. … If it is determined that a player’s ball on the putting green was moved as a result of wind, water or some other natural cause such as the effects of gravity, the ball must be played as it lies from its new location.”

The upshot:

  • If moved accidentally, the ball is returned to its original location.
  • If moved by nature, you play it as it lies.

That is a damn good rule change! Glad to see them making some sense, and keeping the game fun.

Copyright © 2016-2017, TreeLight PenWorks

Add your thoughts...

Categories